Dancing – definitely NOT with the stars!

This past Saturday Jess and I had our third of four dance classes for Foxtrot and Nightclub II. I have to say it was pretty much a disaster. Last weeks class introduced a new step I was unable to get right and this week we added to it and things just got worse. I would get so confused a third of the way through the routine I would completely lose where I was and what I was supposed to do that I just stopped the dance and waited until the next time came around. Apparently Foxtrot is kinda hard and although I am uncertain about Nightclub II I know that I struggle with it.

Tonight we have the Cha Cha and I admit that I actually like it. I think because the dance is a bit easier and I am learning all the steps and not feeling like an oaf.

I am going to digress a little here – Jess tells me I am to hard on myself. While at dance she mentioned it. She’s right. I find myself being really critical of minor things that I make out to be larger than they are. I think that this is not allowing me to have fun while trying to learn something new.

I also noticed (Jess told me) that I am really negative about a great many things. She didn’t put it just like that but she did make a comment while we were watching the Blazer game that I make a lot of negative statements, referring to the game, while we watch. This got me to thinking and she is right. I have been getting so caught up that I am not allowing myself to enjoy some of the things that I do really enjoy – like watching my Blazers.

I guess what I have got out of all of the things that we have been doing lately is that I have to keep everything in perspective and to learn to appreciate things for what they are. Are basketball games or movies or concerts or bowling things for me to critique or are they there to be enjoyed and to make me feel like I really can be fun? I just need to allow myself to have fun and enjoy all the fun things I do get to do.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Everyday Buzz. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dancing – definitely NOT with the stars!

  1. Karynn says:

    I do the same thing! I really have to change my negative talk. I was told recently about a book called “loving what is” or something like that. I am going to check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

