The latest news….

It has been a number of weeks since last I wrote. Let me fill you in on what has been happening. So a number of weeks ago I went over to a friend’s house and pulled a marathon LOTR (Lord of the Rings) movie day. We’re not talking theatrical release but full on extended versions. Each ended up being about 4 hours long. It started at noon and ended just after 1am. Suffice it to say that it was a struggle. I had to fight the sleep monster off for the first part of the last movie but generally speaking made it through with both eyes open.

The experience is one that I can brag about and I really did enjoy the marathon at my friends home where they project movies onto their wall for about an 8 or 9 foot viewing area. Combined with awesome surround sound and comfy reclining couches we had it made.

Little did I know that my back, which I have had problems with off and on since I was 17 decided the following day to crap out on me. One minute I was sitting on a couch in Seattle visiting my wife’s family and the next I could not stand upright.

So for the next week I nursed it and things got better in terms of pain management from pain to stiffness and when Saturday arrived and I had two hours of ballroom dance ahead of me I actually wasn’t cringing but was looking forward to loosening up a bit doing the Rumba and Merengue. And I did too until Sunday came around and I went to watch a “Wraslin’ Pay-per-View” event at my buddy’s house. Afterwards my back was back to keeping me on the injured reserve list for a random period of time.

The week that followed had me playing some ‘Gic with friends on Friday where another buddy, Paul, offered the use of his inversion table for a week to see if it might help me at all. I have tried it a couple of times and will continue throughout the week in the hopes that some benefit can be garnered.

Also during this time I have been to the movies with a colleague/friend to see Hanna and watching the remaining episodes of the third/current season of Sons of Anarchy.

All the game playing/not home-body activities are because my wife is out-of-town and I need activities to fill my time. I mean I have them at home if I want them but those options are always there. This gave me an opportunity to relax a little bit and remember another time when I was a bachelor. As I think back I remember some good times but overall I remember them being lonely times for me. Not that I lacked for friends to do things with but lacked a partner-in-crime to make life choices with, to argue with, to plan trips with and to care for and be cared by.

I miss my wife but not so much that it intrudes on me being excited for her to visit her family or that I am frozen in place not knowing how to make myself dinner. That’s what a microwave is for anyway…isn’t it? Jess if you are reading this, I am kidding. I ordered pizza every night….NOT

So that has been the word from me on what has been happening with this forty something.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Everyday Buzz. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

