Where were you for game 7 of the 2011 World Series?

Not like I have ever held any interest in watching what in my opinion is the most boring professional sport with the possible exception of soccer which I don’t personally get, but I found myself over at my wife’s former roommates home friday night with a small gathering of people to watch the St. Louis Cardinal’s play the Texas Rangers for the world series.

Jess and I arrived at the end of the 2nd or the beginning of the 3rd inning when things were tied up at 2 apiece. It looked to be a good game so far…or so we thought. As the game progresses there were few points to keep us interested with the possible exception of hit batters and bad calls on the part of the ump. Not that I begrudge the umps and the calls they make, 90+ miles and hour is pretty hard to see with the naken eye and accurately called. Not like there is instant replay or anything.

We had light snacks of cheese and crackers, beer and wine and a bottle of sparkling wine when the last out was thrown. I was largely sublimely disinterested in the outcome but it was an opportunity to spend some time with friends and made for a good start to the weekend.

So, the next time someone asks me where I was during the 2011 World Series I will have any answer that is more than the noncommittal shoulder shrug and blank look I would normally give them.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Everyday Buzz and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

