Stephen King – The Gunslinger – The Dark Tower I – 1978 – Reviewed – Spolier Alert

Hmmm…where to begin? Lets start off by saying that Stephen King has contributed much to the literary and visual communities. Having said that and in my opinion, how he ever wrote another book after The Dark Tower amazes me. To say the least, I was not entertained … at all! I am not saying that I am a professional writer nor can I understand what it takes to write a book and with people like me that will talk about it blah blah blah, it’s a wonder writers continue to write at all. To me this just was not very entertaining.

The story is campy and doesn’t make sense. I mean if you call a story where an eternal man, how he gets to be eternal is anyones guess, straight out of Tombstone has a mission like all other gunslingers before him, and like his daddy, to go out and gunsling crossing time and space a story, then yes this was a doozy. It just was too far out there for me to appreciate the story that Stephen was attempting to convey. This is likely more about me not getting Stephen than his ability to write a compelling story but then again this is my blog and I write about what I think and feel.

Here is what I did like about it; the childhood stories of Roland about how he became a man at the ripe old age of 14, a full two years ahead of his dad, all the while being manipulated by the man in black dressed in for lack of a better phrase, Edgar Suit a.k.a. his family’s advisor who’s name escapes me at the moment. This was of course how it was intended to be played out and was all setup without Roland’s knowing. Honestly, that was about it.

I realize he was relatively young at the age of 30 when he wrote it and that most of his of works (fame) that he is most know for was yet to happen BUT still this is a boring story. I guess I just didn’t get it. I soldiered on and read it in its entirety even though it was painful at times because it just didn’t make any kind of sense to me.

Here is another thing I will say; even though it did not resonate with me it did for many other people and regardless of its lack of initial success Stephen soldiered on and has piled up a TON of wonderful stories both in book form and on the screen(s) not to mention that this series does go another six books spanning decades.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Novels, Reading Material and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

