Book Reading in Progress – Dead Dwarves Don’t Dance by Canyon, Derek J. – Spoiler

For the last twenty plus years I have been reading a genre of books that are really a true merging of science fiction and fantasy. These books are derived from the Shadowrun roleplaying game that came out in the late 80’s I believe and combine super technology like enhanced or augmented body parts, implants to see, hear and remember more and better and whizzer firearms. In this new world there has been an awaking of dormant genes in some humans to create new races like dwarves, orcs, trolls, elves and even dragons.

It is about one such book from this genre that I am reading currently. The book is entitled Dead Dwarves Don’t Dance and is written by Derek J. Canyon. I am not certain if this is Derek’s first forray into this genre of books or not but I don’t think I have read any of his material before.

So far his writing is good with the dialogue between characters but I would liked to have seen him be more creative with the names of his characters. The two initial male characters names are so similar that it was hard for me to keep track of who was who. If I am being honest that probably has more to do with my me that the author.

In any case, I like the book so far and am in a pickle on how this story will unfold….which is a good thing. Sometimes the answers are obvious and to me those books aren’t as satisfying. This book has not been obvious and although I am only 25% of the way through the book I am optimistic about it.

I will write more about the book once I have read it completely.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Novels, Reading Material and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

