Book Review – Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson – the long way-’round

As it turns out, I was not tasked with much reading throughout school. Not just highschool but elementary and middle as well. To be sure I was given my assignments of books to read but most of what people mention they read in school I remember as being said was read in highschool, I did not for whatever reason did not read.

I can remember being given choices from among many books of which I chose to read The Good Earth (most of the way through) and White Fang (which I enjoyed very much). I honestly don’t recall being given the choice of many of the “classics” to read. Probably because I went to public school and crazy people protest books that foster “crazy” ideas or original thinking. Okay, so that was probably not fair. You get out of the system what you put in…but that is a story for another day.

Recently I acquired a Kindle Touch so that I could reduce the amount of space I use to store my books and so that I had a myriad of books to choose from all the time I have my Kindle. For me reading is something I have to do every night before I go to bed. It has been that way for years.

Not having tons of money to throw at my reading proclivities I opted to check out the free section of Amazon and was amazed at what I found and subsequently downloaded. here is a list of books I picked up, again for FREE!

  • The Mysterious Island – Jules Verne
  • Awakening – Karice Bolton
  • Emma – Jane Austen
  • Grimm’s Fairy Stores – Jacob Grimm and Wilhelm ?
  • Jane Eyre  – Charlotte Bronte
  • The Jungle Book – Rudyard Kipling
  • Les Miserables – Victor Hugo
  • Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
  • Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  • Uncle Tom’s Cabin – Harriet Beacher Stowe
  • Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
  • Dracula – Bram Stoker
  • The Heist – Devin Hobbes
  • A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  • The Time Machine – H.G. Wells
  • Frankenstein – Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
  • Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
  • Fairy Tales Every Child Should Know – Hamilton ?
  • Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson
  • The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin – Benjamin Franklin
  • The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett

That is wonderful isn’t it? A ton of books to keep me happily reading for what is likely to be the rest of the year give a take a couple of months. Anyway…on to the actual, let’s not say review although I do say that in the title. Let’s call it my opinion of the book.I may be talking about the specifics in detail.

I remember watching this movie at least once during my teens or maybe younger and I remember having the feeling and awe when watching it. I remember it being exciting, riveting and completely kept me enthralled the entire way through. Having recently just read the book I will be honest, this book is meant for kids. The writing is sometimes long-winded and sentences run on forever. Also some things just don’t make any sense of why people acted the way they did. This is of course adult me kicking the child me in the balls and sucking all the enjoyment out of it. Sadly I have a feeling that this will happen on more of the classic books I have downloaded for free as well.

Back to our regularly scheduled program; what mother is going to let her only son go away on this ridiculously dangerous sea voyage just after losing her husband. To me this is one of the biggest flaws to this book. I know this is supposed to be a fantastical story of adventure blah blah blah but it is borne out of a set of circumstances that just don’t having me want to read on because I was excited. Again this is/was the times it is written about as well as at what age I am reading it now for the first time.

Also, letting Silver go after he was the direct cause of so many people getting killed is again ridiculous. No one does that. An honorable person would see justice done for all the people who did not make it back alive because of his actions.  Additionally he beginning of the story is slow and boring and I did not find the character compelling at all, again older me getting in the way of my inner adventure.

Having said that, the things I did like about the book are as follows in no particular order. I like that to a fourth grader in school this would have been and AWESOME adventure story. I mean, who doesn’t like pirates and buried treasure and se shanties right? I think I would have appreciated mom letting me go on the high-seas for a once in a lifetime adventure – after all that is what youth is about right?

I also liked the fact that it is a quick read and I was able to move on to another classic.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Novels, Reading Material and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

