Book Review – Dracula – Bram Stoker ~ Spolier ~

So I would like to talk a little about the latest book I have read, Dracula by Bram Stoker. Written in 1896 this book has really been the inspiration for countless movies, television series, novels, costumes and countless other works to numerous to mention here.

I will start out by saying that I did see the 1992 movie Dracula and really enjoyed it which in more than some small part helped choose this as the latest book to read.

I have heard it said you shouldn’t watch a movie after reading the book because the movie generally does not do the book justice either by such gross deviation from what we, as the readers, imagine or what the author describes in the book very specifically. So, what of watching a movie and then reading the book the movie was based on?

Suffice it to say I liked both more after having read the book. The accent Anthony Hopkins uses and his stilting speech is how I imagine he would talk like. This is probably because I saw the movie and now am fitting him in as what I imagine when I read the book.

I especially like the way the book sells the idea that from all of their meticulous notes that a handbook or guide on their experiences could be or was made from them for future hunters of vampires to learn from. In fact you could remove the narratives and just write the experiences and have a movie canned for you. This is of course what most movie experiences are like in any case. Needless to say I thought it was clever of Bram to write it the way he did.

I think my only criticism would be that the book is so meticulous and even ponderous at some points during the book that the abrupt ending was almost anticlimactic. It was in truth a little bit of a let down. All the suspense, all the build up for such a sudden ending. Not much closure in terms of a monologue of some kind. Maybe that is just me being used to the hollywood ending where things are spoon-fed to us.

All in all I was very pleased with this book and look forward to reading more of his work. I suggest everyone do the same.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Reading Material and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

