Life of Pi – Yann Martel – Book Review – Spoiler

 

Last night I finished up Life of Pi, written by Yann Martel in 2001. I have discussed this book with my wife and mother-in-law and believe it is an allegory.

  • Allegory – a representation of an abstract or spiritual meaning through concrete or material forms; figurative treatment of one subject under the guise of another.

Sounds about right to me. I enjoyed the writing style of Yann, specifically the very in-depth methodical way he would make lists of things or how he compartmentalized his thoughts and how that translated into words on the page.

What was really intriguing was how he was able to mesh so well together his idea of zoology and his understanding of religion from the standpoint of a 16-year-old. It blends so well even though all of it is so completely unbelievable. I think that is what I pull from Yann’s writing. He takes something so improbable and tells a story that you could believe is real.

When I was reading the book and every time Richard Parker was mentioned I would think of our orange tabby – Axel. He has long hair and is very verbal. When he is busy cleaning his sister, Manu, and is really into the tongue bath his whiskers go forward and he is so intent that he reminds me of a tiger over a kill and less the house cat he is.

To make this short I will say I am happy that I read the book and look forward to seeing the movie. I recommend everyone read this book. It is like nothing you have read before. I feel better for having done so myself.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Novels, Reading Material and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

