Bowling Update – Week 7 – End of Q1

  • (161) Mr. Pink 177-138-167=482 (160) -1
  • (165) Ruben 151-127-121=399 (133) – 22
  • (176) Bill 213-198-168=579 (193) +17
  • (167) Tod 147-159-232=538 (179) +12
  • (207) James 277-237-234=(748) +42

As a team we took 31 and lost 4. Going into the final week of the quarter we were in 5th place out of 19 with a real opportunity to move up in the standings. This is important really in terms of payout at the end of the year.

Not to toot my own horn but I was the big weiner on the team last night at 42 pins above average per game.

I began the night with getting new finger inserts in my old 14 lbs. ball I used last year. It is called The Avalanche. I used it last week to pretty good effect the last two games of the night and thought I would start with it this week. The only thing I noticed was that the finger inserts were a bit worn. I also had one re-sized a little smaller so it fit a little better, more snug if you will so I had more lift off my fingertips.

The other news is that Ruben, who was a rock star last year and started off this year that way has dropped off as of late. There are moments he shows glimpses of his inner rock star but those have been hidden behind the struggles most of us face when there is more expectation on them. What I mean by that, is that I have told Ruben I expected his average to be at 170 this year. I think coupled with my words and Ruben’s own expectations have made him doubt his own abilities when things get a little dicey on the lanes. And things are likely to get dicey on the lanes  whether you want them to or not.

The last thing I will say is that when things really started going sideways and after he threw two gutter balls in a row he pulled it together and managed a halfway decent game to help us take the team game worth five points. That says a lot to me. Instead of just feigning some BS to get out of bowling the last game or partial game, he bucked up, took off his glasses and started forgetting about all the things going on around him and just threw the ball down the lane. I believe he marked in four of his last five frames to allow us to hold on for the W.

I also want to mention that Bill and Tod had great games (nights) as well. Bill had a 213 which is 37 pins above his average. Tod had a crushing 232 which is 65 pins above his average. So totally awesome.

All in all it was a pretty good night for the team.

Finally, if you want to see more stats on any of the team or its’ members you can go to League Secretary.com to see all the action as it is compiled each week.

This entry was posted in Bowling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

