Health Update

This morning I weighed in at 250.3 lbs. This is really great news, especially after traveling to New Mexico for a week I thought I was going to be in serious trouble. Turns out when I returned from the trip I was up to 253.4 lbs but have lost the little bit I gained and then some since being back over the last two weeks.

My wife and I have been making some additional dietary changes and they seem to really be helping with losing weight if not just being a healthier eating regimen. I think cutting out as much sugar as I have has been instrumental in losing the weight – by cutting out dairy as much as possible hasn’t hurt either. I still love cheese but will have to settle for Diaya cheese in most cases.

Since the weather has turned to the rainy I haven’t been out for walks as much with the dog as I would like. I definitely need to change that. Along with the diet and maintaining my walk routine I will also be looking into starting some basic yoga at home as well as starting back up with the stretches I should be doing for my back. Finally I will be getting back on the inversion table nightly which also seemed to help my back when I maintained it regularly.

I guess the biggest take-away I have from all of this, the diet change, the walking, stretching and inversion table seems like a lot of effort but it is the price that needs to be paid to live a healthier and better life. If all things were equal it would be nice not to have to do all of these things or at least not as strictly do these things but they are what is necessary for me to become the healthiest me I can be.

I want to be as positive as I can be about the limitations that I have – sciatica being the largest force that impacts my daily life. Whether I am ever rid of it and I get the feeling back from where it is now numb or not I have to live every day with what is in the now. I need to eat properly, lose weight, exercise, stretch and enjoy what I have. All the rest falls to the side.

Having said I will be getting an MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) done at the beginning of the year to see the extent of the damage done to my sciatic nerve and can then discuss treatment. I am prepared if the answer is, surgery will not help me because the damage has been done. As I said, I plan on living each day in the now, not the what if or what could have been.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Goals, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Health Update

  1. Anna says:

    I am glad to see that you are doing so well and that you are sticking so well to your regime. Thankfully you do not take after me, I am a champion procrastanator. It will get easier as you continue and it becomes more habit, just something that is part of your everyday routine, then it won’t seem like (so much of a chore isn’t really what I want to say). After I get off here it will probably come to me. Keep up the great work Sweety. Talk to you again later. Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

