Health Update

For the past three weeks and a bit I have really not made much effort in writing anything meaningful on my blog. Rather, I haven’t written anything meaningful or otherwise. Let me give you the 411 on what has been going on.

About four weeks ago I started feeling a tightness in my left buttocks. Tightness eventually made its way to discomfort and pain and slight numbness in my toes. This was frightening to me as I went through this about 7 years ago with my sciatic nerve which is now partially numb all the time now.

As soon as I recognized the beginning signs I immediately called for an appointment with my doctor. A mere two weeks later I was addressing my concerns with my doctor. He eliminated any back injury and concluded that I was experiencing Piriformes syndrome (or something to that effect). Basically “Piriformes Syndrome causes pain in the buttock which radiates down the leg and is due to the Sciatic nerve being impinged by the piriformis muscle.”

I have been very concerned about having what happened to my right leg happen to my left. Needless to say I was really quite frightened and will admit that I was feeling a bit sorry for myself. I kind of lost hope in beating this thing like I failed to do so all those years ago with my sciatic nerve.

It took about another week to pull my head out of the dark space (no pun intended) it was occupying and really fell into doing all the things that I needed to do to get past this. Pain is scary and daunting but the alternative is even scarier.

My recovery involves a lot of stretching and getting back into some routine of activity that stretches my muscles. I also noted that about 4 weeks ago my parents in-law started taking care of our dog because of the lack of someone being home enough each day to properly take care of him (my wife was away on business and I had a weekend at the coast with the guys -Man Weekend)  This led to no dog-walks and less activity. If I haven’t mentioned this before I work behind 3 computers and am on my ass all day. No help there. You see I make up a large demographic of people who are inactive and as a result suffer physical problems.

I have not given up and am now tirelessly working on beating this thing. I stretch several times a day, use my inversion table 1 or 2 times a day and make myself walk despite the pain I am dealing with. I realize there are many people out there that have it worse than me and have overcome more than me. I would be foolish to think what I am dealing with is greater than anyone elses problems.

For now I am building up my stamina and going for longer walks while trying to maintain some balance of not enough and too much.

As a follow-up, I still am planning on participating in the Shamrock Run although in my case I will be doing the walk. If you would like to join me I would love the company.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Health Update

  1. Very descriptive article, I liked that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

    Like

Leave a Reply

