The Grinning Man Knows

Recently I have had some really strange and dark thoughts that might lead into a short story, but for now a simple haiku. Please reply back with any feedback you may have. And so without further ado, I give you The Grinning Man.

The Grinning Man Knows

When You Think You Are Alone

He Is Watching You

More to come…

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Grinning Man Knows

  1. Anna says:

    I like this, how about some more. Mom

    Like

    • As my friend Paul commented on this, it left him a little chilled as he read the haiku. My intention was for something creepy which definitely struck with him.

      When you say you liked it, can you describe what you liked about it or what emotions it elicited?

      Like

  2. Paul says:

    okay creeps me out a little. Now I know why some people are freaked out about clowns. Why don’t more stories start with “It was a bright and sunny day” instead of “It was a dark and stormy night”. What is it about the language or our culture that one statement puts us at ease and the other generates suspense. Ultimately these statements have identical structure, and same number of addjetives describing a time. It’s amazing how different three words in a sentence can create a completely different picture and level of suspense. Similarly the three lines above could describe a sinister clown, or it could be a father proudly watching his son when he is sleeping, or you could be aluding to a dead relative watching a family member beyond the grave. What is it about the language selected that made me jump to a more sinister interpretation?

    Like

    • That is good that is made you uncomfortable, that is what I was going for. For a little while now, say the last several weeks I have had the idea of a person who’s only emotion was a smile. To me there is something very chilling when I think about it…so I thought I would share.

      I imagined that when you pull the shower curtain aside and you see The Grinning Man staring back at you. Very unnerving and way creepy. I can’t explain it, only put down into words what goes through my head sometimes. Share my crazy as it were.

      Like

Leave a Reply

