Odds and ends…

Big news first; I am scheduled for surgery on the 17th of this month. That is 1 week from today. They are going to be working on the discs at the locations of L4-L5 and L5-S1. There are a couple other bulging discs that later in life may give me troubles but for now they will be left alone because they appear to not be causing any of my issues right now. Keeping the surgery as short as possible is probably best anyway. I am really just eager to be done with the whole mess and on to physical therapy and recovery.

The doctor says that I should be in the hospital overnight and can go home the following day provided there are no complications. I should also be able to walk around and am strongly encouraged to do so to exercise the muscles so they don’t atrophy, making the physical therapy harder.

With any luck bowling will be in the cards this fall and maybe some actual hiking later this year. Also and because my mind wonders about, so too will this post. The doc mentioned that I should lose weight which will in turn make it easier to strengthen my core. I thought to myself that my core really isn’t the problem and that I DO work on it everyday before I get out of bed along with other stretches but rather it is likely the beer I drink. If they made a diet beer I am sure I wouldn’t be dealing with a pony keg right now. 🙂 In all seriousness, losing weight is part of the overall health regimen that will help me steer clear of more back issues for the foreseeable future. Getting older sucks. When I was young being fit was called hanging out with friends after school. Now it is called working out or as I like to call it…torture. Honestly it has been so long since I have been able to walk for a long period of time without pain or jogged that I have become soft or more soft that I would have liked. Now I need to suck it up and do the work and get back into the game and back to fighting weight.

Something that just struck me; other than a piece of frozen steak (inside joke – I will tell you about it later if you ask real nice ;)) is that losing weight should be a gradual thing, like gaining weight. We however are becoming programmed more and more often to want everything instantly that the prospect of long-term never enters the picture.

I think that I have fallen into this same trap. I have worked most of my professional career in the internet conferencing industry and subsequently worked with computers and sat behind a desk for eight hours a day on average. Everything I did was always in the short-term and measured by how quickly I could get a project done and out the door. Gone were the days where I did manual labor for a living, often hours long jobs or all day. Also gone were the days I could neglect the slow creep of time upon my person because of it.

I guess we all have to grow up some time. 🙂

Peace be with you all!

More to come…

 

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

