The big day has arrived…

That’s it folks, the big day has finally arrived. And none to soon if you ask me. Surgery should be around 1pm and I should be under for 2.5 hours should everything go hunky-dory.

The surgical procedures being performed for my pleasure will be a laminectomy and a discectomy. I am positive I spelled both of those wrong, so sue me. As I have been saying for a while, this has been a long time coming and although I will endure some pain and discomfort in the short-term now, I am positive this is the best thing for me and my health long-term.

I should be convalescing at home tomorrow provided everything goes as planned. Things I can’t do while I am in a janky way: bowling, disc gold, sitting for more than twenty minutes at a time so gaming and Magic the Gathering are both out. No housework, mowing the lawn or any of that nonsense either. 🙂 Things I do get to do: request a beer or some other tasty beverage from any available persons and they have to get it for me (I think that’s a law somewhere). All my meals prepared for me. Well that mostly happened already so that stays the same. I do get to watch a crap-ton of T.V. at first along with being able to write. If you have any suggestions of shows to watch I am all ears.

I will be up and walking around tomorrow once I am home. That will be my only form of exercise while the surgical site heals. No driving for 1-2 weeks. Physical therapy will start sometime in the next couple months after it is determined I am ready for it.

I think those are all the big buckets I can think of for now. Send your well wishes and good thoughts my way and to my wife. She is probably more nervous about this than I am right now. That will all end when I am a giant pain in the ass at home having her run around for me while I am recovering though.

Finally, I do want to say a heart-felt thank you to everyone that has wished me well and offered assistance during this time. I am truly fortunate to have such wonderfully loving friends and family.

Peace be with you all!

More to come…

 

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The big day has arrived…

  1. Hope you have a swift recovery!

    Like

Leave a Reply

