Networking, Networking and more Networking

Since the start of my business Greenleaf Enterprises LLC I knew there would come a day when all my equipment was set up and software was purchased and installed and all my backup strategies were implemented that I would have to get to Networking. And that day was actually about six weeks ago.

I know, why the heck am I just getting to this tasty morsel of news? Because at first I wasn’t sure where it was going and didn’t really know what to make of it. However…fast forward 8 weeks, 1 surgery, 1 partial recovery and about 9 more networking events I am starting to get the hang of what I am supposed to do at them. More than that, I feel comfortable enough and believe enough in what I am selling (Me) that it doesn’t really bother me to speak in front of 100 strangers any more. Weird?

Initially I started going to JobGroup, then Portland Connect, then OAME then back to whichever was next. There is literally a networking group for everything you can possibly imagine in Portland. My experience, although challenging at first has become a part of what I do for my business. When I worked for “The Man” I came to work, punched in, worked my 40 each week and that was it. As the owner I have to do everything; research,  purchasing, setup, IT, sales and…networking. After having to do all these things for myself and not having anyone else to rely on I have learned some respect for those people who did all those things and had to listen me cry when something went amiss at all of the other places I worked.

Thus far I have met some really great people and got a few leads which I am excited about. Every single day is an adventure and I don’t know what the day holds but I am looking forward to it.

Peace be with you all!

More to come…

This entry was posted in Career, Greenleaf Enterprises LLC, Voice Over Acting, Web Conferencing Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Networking, Networking and more Networking

  1. Anna says:

    I am very proud of you. Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

