Great News!

For the past several months now I have been putting myself out there, no – not visiting online dating sites – but rather have been focusing on my business. To that end I have been doing tons of networking. In the last two weeks alone I have been to nine 1-1 networking meetings and 1 leads group event where there were about 20 people.

The several weeks before that I had probably about five to six 1-1 meetings and 3-4 leads or general networking group events. All this effort to get my business name/brand out there so that I am a face people recognize and want to do business with.

Aside from all the networking I am doing for the web portion of my business I have been looking at web sites that work on just voice over (VO). I joined several groups through LinkedIn and saw the frenzy that occurred every time someone posted a new project that was looking for some new voice actors to be in it. It was crazy…and honestly aside from occasionally giving me some insight on specific industry how-to’s, was not very fruitful.

Last month I was largely convalescing from back surgery and was looking for some alternative sites that I could get in with that might use my VO talents. I came across ACX. This is the brainchild of Amazon. It puts writers and producers (me and those like me) together and allows for the writers to submit a written segment of their book to be recorded and submitted for approval by VO talents. If the writer accepts your proof, then you guys go through some legal stuff and are then working together.

This morning I got an email that 1 of the 2 books I recorded for has accepted my work and wants to have me record their book! I will tell-all about the project when I can but I am fairly sure it wont be until after the project is complete.

I still need to read all the fine print etc…before I agree. I have a couple days to decide if I still want to do the job. Until then the writer cannot offer the job to anyone else so I don’t have to feel rushed about making an informed decision to do the book.

So…THAT is my big news! I am very grateful that I get this opportunity.

Peace be with you.

More to come…

This entry was posted in Career, Voice Over Acting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Great News!

  1. Paul Brotherton says:

    Nice!!!!

    Like

  2. Anna says:

    Congratulations and good luck. Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

