if tomorrow is the day

If you knew that you would not be here tomorrow
Would you spend your last day thinking about yesterday’s sorrow
Or thinking of things to do if one more day you could borrow

To be honest I am not sure what I would do
Spend time thinking about all the people I knew
Does it matter in the end if I am true

The ghosts of my deeds will linger for a while
In the minds of those who thought they had seen my smile
But in truth no one wants to walk my last mile

We all fear it way deep down in our core
We try to dodge and cheat for just a little more
Why not just embrace what is in store

How you meet it is how you are judged I am told
On bended knee praying or crying for someone to hold
Is there wisdom in either I am not sold

Be who you are there is no wrong or right way
Go happy or sad nothing you can do or say
Can prevent it if tomorrow is the day

Peace be with you!

More to come…

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to if tomorrow is the day

  1. Anna Nutt says:

    I really like your poems. Mom

    Like

  2. “Be who you are there is no wrong or right way
    Go happy or sad nothing you can do or say
    Can prevent it if tomorrow is the day”

    those three lines made the whole poem for me.

    waiting for more of your writings. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

