NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNoWriMo 2015 has just started and this year I am apart of it! For those of you not in the know about NaNoWriMo, it stands for National November Writers Month (or something very close to that – I will make certain of the details and provide a link in the near future). The rules are simple, starting November 1st you have the entire month to write 50,000 words towards that novel that you have been aching to create for what seems like ever. For me it has been since 2013, probably earlier. I believe that was the time that I started coming up with an idea for a story that I was willing to bring to life.

I believe it was also around 2013 (maybe even earlier) that a good friend of mine told me about NaNoWriMo. I hadn’t heard about it but was intrigued to know more. I went online and after reading about what they were about, I created an account and had all the best of intentions to join in the reindeer games that year but never did. I think I found some excuse not to, which sadly happens all to often.

2014 was a trip to Maui for 12 days in November, and as much as I wanted to participate in NaNoWriMo that year, I didn’t want to distract myself from enjoying Hawai’i. I know, another excuse. This year, I told myself it would be different. No tropical trips were planned and I had worked up an outline and wanted to explore my inner writer to see if there was anything there. I spoke to my friend to get psyched up, for he too wanted to do this (as he was the one who told me about it in the first place) so that we would encourage each other and come hell or high water, we would write everyday and make it happen.

As it does happen to turn out, my wife and I do find ourselves at Seaside for the first eight days of November with plenty of leisure time on our hands, which means I am able to write when the inspiration hits me. We have been to Seaside many times for mini-vacations and gamer weekends and the like and thus feel no pressure to go explore like we might during other vacations at other places. We make it to beach that our room overlooks a couple times a day (if we feel like it) and  simply enjoy each others company.

Each of the past several days I have been able to sit down and write when the inspiration has struck and so far have managed almost 4000 words which is inline with what I need to do each day to make the ultimate goal of 50,000 words. In addition to writing during these times, I tell my wife about what scene just played out in my head and I have now  committed to paper. She has provided perspective and flow and kept things from spinning out of control in my head and has given me ideas to shape that otherwise would have been a mess to clean up later on. Without her council things would be a mess.

As a final note, I want to say to everyone that wants to write, do so. Encourage those around you to do so and allow yourself to be inspired. Let the people know around you how much they mean to you and say thanks when warrented. To those points I want to thank my good friend who initially told me about NaNoWriMo and with whom have often spoke about “What we would do during the zombie apocolypse” on our many drives to and from our fishing and camping trips. I also want to thank my wife whose unwavering encouragement, faith and belief in me has helped give me the confidence to take so many leaps of faith in almost every facet of my personnal and professional life.

Peace be with you!

More to come…

This entry was posted in Everyday Buzz, Goals, Weird and Odd Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

